Jacques May Thesis Prize

The Health and Medical Geography Specialty Group (HMGSG) of the AAG is accepting submissions for the Jacques May Thesis Prize. Since 1985, the prize has been awarded to Master’s and doctoral theses addressing themes in health and medical geography broadly defined, as judged by a panel of reviewers. Theses will be judged on their contribution to the field, their methodological approach, organization, and written composition. Both awardees receive an official certificate and a cash award of $250 (doctoral) or $150 (Master’s).
Eligibility: Master’s or doctoral theses officially completed during the 24 months prior to the submission deadline are eligible, provided that they have not been previously considered for the prize. Theses should also directly address a topic central to health and medical geography. Membership in the American Association of Geographers is required, but membership in the HMGSG is not.

Submission and Review: Submissions should be sent to Calvin Tribby (calvin.tribby@nih.gov) and Louisa Holmes (lmholmes@binghamton.edu). Only electronic submissions will be considered. Theses must be in PDF (Adobe Acrobat) format, and completely anonymous to enable double-blind reviews (i.e., the thesis must be free of all references to the author in the front matter, notes, references, headers, etc.).Theses will be reviewed by at least two anonymous referees, who will make their recommendations to the HMGSG board. The HMGSG will announce the winner of the prize before the AAG Meeting. Winners are expected to present at a special award session at the American Association of Geographers annual meeting in Denver in the spring of 2020.

In the email message accompanying the submission, please include the following information:

  • Full name and current contact information department and university affiliation
  • Title of thesis
  • Thesis category (masters or doctoral) and date of completion
  • A brief abstract
  • Name of your thesis advisor
  • Names and email addresses for three to four potential reviewers.

Reviewers must not be committee members or faculty at the student’s university or have any past formal association with the author (e.g., research collaborators, co-authors, etc.). Key authors in the field (e.g., from the thesis bibliography) would be appropriate.

Submission Deadline: The submission deadline is November 30, 2019.

Calvin Tribby (National Cancer Institute)

Louisa Holmes (Binghamton University)